Walmart cashes printed payroll checks in most states (excluding New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island). It won’t cash handwritten payroll checks in any state. You must provide a government-issued photo ID and pay a fee of around $3 to $6, depending on the check amount.
Does Walmart Cash Payroll Checks?
Walmart cashes payroll checks — except in New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island due to state laws. Additionally, state laws in Florida prevent Walmart from cashing checks over $2,000. Walmart will not cash a handwritten payroll check, regardless of the state and amount.
Check Cashing Hours
Walmart MoneyCenters and the customer service desk are typically only open from 7 a.m. or 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. After hours, you can cash a payroll check at any register — even on weekends and at stores open 24 hours.
Payroll Check Cashing Limit
In Florida, the check cashing limit is $2,000. All other states where Walmart cashes checks have a limit of up to $5,000.
Check Verification Service
Before your check is cashed, Walmart will use check acceptance company TeleCheck (a select few locations use Certegy) to determine the validity of the check. If your payroll check is declined, you can contact TeleCheck at (800) 964-9490 (or Certegy at (800) 237-3826).
Walmart cashes payroll checks in amounts up to $5,000 and the fee varies by the check amount. You’ll pay:
- $3 for checks up to and including $1,000
- $6 for checks $1,000.01 to $5,000
Compare Walmart with other options (potentially with lower fees) in our research places that cash payroll checks.
Where to Go Inside Walmart
You can get your check cashed at the Walmart MoneyCenter, the customer service desk, and at the register. If you have a large check, head to either the MoneyCenter or the customer service desk, as cashiers often won’t have enough cash on hand to cover it.
To cash your payroll check at Walmart, you’ll need one of the following valid, government-issued photo IDs:
- Driver’s license
- State-issued ID
- Military ID
- Tribal ID
- U.S. passport
If you don’t have these types of ID, see our research on where to cash a check with a temporary ID and check cashing options that don’t require ID.
How You’ll Receive the Money
Once your payroll check is verified, you can receive the amount in cash or have it loaded on a Walmart MoneyCard. You can get a MoneyCard in-store (for $3) or online (arrives at your door for free).
Other Types of Checks Walmart Cashes
In addition to payroll checks, Walmart also cashes the following types of checks:
- Government checks
- Tax rebate checks
- Cashier’s checks
- Insurance checks
- 401(k), retirement distribution checks
- MoneyGram money orders that were purchased at Walmart
Fees for cashing these types of checks are the same as payroll checks: $3 for checks up to and including $1,000 and $6 for checks over $1,000 to $5,000. Note: The check cashing limit is raised to $7,500 from January to April, in order to allow more people to cash their tax rebate checks at Walmart.
Find out more about cashing other checks in our research on Walmart’s general check cashing policy.
Types of Checks Walmart Doesn’t Cash
While Walmart will cash most types of checks, the checks they will not cash include:
- Personal checks (See our list of places that cash personal checks.)
- Starter checks (Find other places that cash starter checks.)
- Altered checks
- Expired checks or checks that are more than 180 days old
- Post-dated checks (See other places that cash post-dated checks.)
- Savings bond checks