Age to Rent a Car in Florida: Answers Listed by Rental Company

Short Answer: The minimum required age to rent a car in Florida will depend on the company. Most rental car companies require renters to be at least 21 years old; some make exceptions for younger renters, but they will likely charge an additional fee. There is no maximum age for car rental in Florida. See below for the list of major car rental companies in Florida and their age requirements.

Age Requirements for Renting a Car in Florida

The minimum age for renting a car is determined by rental companies rather than by state law; in Florida, the minimum age for most companies in 21. Some car rental companies in Florida will rent to drivers under 21, but policies may vary by location. If you’re under 25, you’ll typically have to pay a “young driver fee,” which can be anywhere from $14 to $73 per day.

There are a few exceptions to the minimum age requirement. In Florida, as well as the rest of the country, most car rental companies will rent to those who are 18 and older if they’re on-duty military personnel, or if they have government-issued travel orders. Car rental companies in the U.S. do not impose maximum age limits on renters; other regions, such as the United Kingdom, do.

Additionally, if you’re looking for lodging in Florida as well, get up to $55 toward your first Airbnb stay by using our referral link. You can book as young as 18. Note that a lucky member of the FQF team will also receive credit towards their next Airbnb stay if you sign up through our link.

Car Rental Companies in Florida (With Age Requirements)

Below, we provide the list of car rental companies with locations in Florida, along with information on minimum age requirements, young driver fees, and how to get started on the rental process. None of the companies listed below have a maximum age for renters in Florida.

Keep in mind that these age requirements apply to all rental car drivers. A person meeting the age requirements for car rentals could not, for example, include an additional driver on the rental agreement who is younger than the minimum age.

To compare the other features of these rental companies, including their prices, use our car rental selection tool.

ACE Rent a Car

Advantage Rent A Car

Alamo Rent A Car

Avis Rent a Car

  • Minimum renter age: 21
  • Underage renter information: Avis rents to customers 21 to 24 years old who have a credit card and valid driver’s license; Avis will also rent to customers 18 years old and older if they have official government travel orders. Underage drivers may not rent specialty and larger vehicles.
  • Young driver fee: $27 per day
  • Source: Avis Car Rentals FAQs
  • Find an Avis location
  • Rent a car with Avis

Budget Rent a Car

Dollar Rent A Car

Enterprise Rent-A-Car

E-Z Rent-A-Car

  • Minimum renter age: 18
  • Underage renter information: Drivers under the age of 25 will be charged an additional fee.
  • Young driver fee: $20 to $30 per day for drivers under 25, depending on location
  • Source: E-Z Terms & Conditions, confirmed with a call to customer service
  • Find an E-Z location
  • Rent a car with E-Z

Fox Rent A Car

Getaround

Note: Getaround is a car-sharing service where drivers rent cars directly from owners.

Hertz

National Car Rental

Payless Car Rental

Rent-A-Wreck

Sixt

  • Minimum renter age: 21
  • Underage renter information: Renters age 21 to 24 must have held a driver’s license for at least one year. Rental car choices for young drivers are restricted to certain vehicle categories. Underage fees apply.
  • Young driver fee: $14.99 to $35 per day; maximum $279.98 per rental
  • Source: Sixt FAQs
  • Find a Sixt location
  • Rent a car with Sixt

Thrifty Car Rental

Turo

Note: Like Getaround, Turo is a car-sharing service where drivers rent cars directly from owners. To compare, see our article about Turo vs. Getaround.

Zipcar

  • Minimum renter age: 18 if you’re in college, 21 otherwise
  • Underage renter information: Renters 18 to 20 years old must be enrolled at a college or university affiliated with Zipcar. All other drivers must be 21 or older. Find out if your college is affiliated with Zipcar on the Zipcar for students page. You can also check out our article about Zipcar’s underage policy.
  • Young driver fee: No additional fees for young drivers, but all renters must be members of Zipcar and pay an annual membership fee.
  • Source: How does Zipcar work? on Zipcar’s website
  • Find a Zipcar location
  • Rent a car with Zipcar

In Summary

The minimum age for car rentals in Florida is 21 for most companies, and there is no maximum age. Some companies will rent to younger drivers — if you’re under 21 and looking to rent a car in Florida, there are several companies available for you to choose from, but you’ll likely pay an additional daily fee.

For more about car rental age requirements, see our articles about the car rental age in Texas, the age to rent a car in California, and renting a car at 18.